Athens-Hocking-Vinton 317 Board Annual Meeting

Minutes

September 23, 2023

Present:	Heather Batin, Chair, Tonya Bowden, Joanna Carter, Jayne Darling, Dr. Tom Davis Dr. Joe Gay, Rhea Hopstetter, Dr. Ron Luce, Robert Orth, Tamara Norway, and Patricia Robinette, Anne Rubin, and Shei Sanchez
Absent:	Ralph Evans, Maeve Gallagher, Robert Salazzoni, and Jacqueline Stobbs
Staff:	Amanda Conrath, Kim Crum, Svea Maxwell, Marissa McDaid, Beth Mohammed, Andrea Pierson, Board Intern, Kim Robinson, Diane Pfaff, and Sherri Tyree

The 2024 Annual Meeting recognizing community advocates was held at the Stuarts Opera House in Nelsonville.

I. <u>Award Presentations</u>

Ms. Batin called the Annual Meeting to order at 6:06 p.m. and welcomed guests, board members, and agency staff.

Advocacy awards were presented to individuals from the three county area for their dedicated service to the Athens, Hocking and Vinton communities.

Behavioral Health Awards

- Sherri Tyree presented the Athens County Behavioral Health Advocate award to Dan Brozak for his role as the Hospital Liaison for Hopewell Health Centers and his skillful advocacy and compassion with assisting community members in navigating the behavioral health system and addressing barriers to care.
- Marissa McDaid and Amanda Conrath presented the second and third Athens County Behavioral Health Advocate awards to Jane Riley and Lori Brown for their dedication to the Athens County Suicide Prevention Coalition, Athens County LOSS Team, and the Suicide Bereavement Support Group on their own time. Both are social workers at Appalachian Behavioral Healthcare.
- Martin Hammar presented the Hocking County Behavioral Health Advocate award to Beth Kluding. Ms. Kluding is the chief nursing officer at Hocking Valley Community Hospital and president of the board of directors at the Hocking Hills Inspire Shelter and has expanded behavioral health services in both of those roles. She is also active on many of Hocking County's coalitions and task forces.

- Carla Shaeffer presented the Vinton County Behavioral Health Advocate award to the Care Outreach Team Board Members: Greg Burke, David Boothe, Marilyn Braden, David Graham, Shirley Graham, Debbie McNally, John Hawk, Brande Minton, Marilyn Prater, George Reaser, Naomi Wallace, and Jean-Ann Webster for their time and advocacy providing resources for the Vinton County community.
- Michele Papai presented the Rita Gillick Mental Health Advocate award to the staff of the Gathering Place: Ginger Schmalenberg, Sara Brooks, Daniel West, Catrina Tolly, and Madalyn Shiplett for their advocacy for Athens County's most vulnerable citizens. The team made every effort to deliver services during the COVID-19 pandemic. They also are strong advocates for unhoused individuals.
- Jane Darling and Ellen Martin presented the Valeria "Taffy" Marks Substance Abuse Prevention award to Judge George McCarthy for his advocacy for veterans. He established the area's first Veteran's Court in 2016. Under the Judge's leadership, the program has successfully supported veterans to recover and restore their roles as productive members of the community.
- II. Ms. Batin and Ms. Pfaff thanked all the board members, agencies, and guests for their advocacy and attendance at the meeting.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 7:06 pm.

Submitted by,

Diane Pfaff, Executive Director

Heather Batin, Chair